Malopolska is European Entrepreneurial Region of 2016

Malopolska region has been awarded the title of European Entrepreneurial Region (EER) of 2016. The title is awarded by the Committee of the Regions - EU advisory body representing European regional and local authorities. The award is granted to the regions which presented the most future-oriented "visions of entrepreneurship development". This is the first Polish region that has received this award.

     The title of European Entrepreneurial Region is awarded annually to three regions of the European Union. The jury awarding EER title includes: Committee of the Regions (President's office), European Commission (Directorate-General for Regional and Urban Policy, Directorate-General for Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs, Directorate-General for Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion), the European Parliament, the European Economic and Social Committee, Eurochambres, UEAPME and Social Economy Europe.
      The title is awarded to regions and cities (before Glasgow, the title was awarded to Lisbon), which present the best "innovative policies supporting entrepreneurship", mainly in the SME sector. Implementation of the presented programs will be monitored by the jury, which awards the title.  This edition of the competition focused on the importance of "attracting many partners to the program" in Malopolska, "renewing traditional industry branches" in Lombardy and "involving the authorities in stimulating innovation and entrepreneurship" in Glasgow.
      The criteria used for evaluating the candidates include: implementation of the provisions of "The Small Business Act for Europe" program, the use of EU funds and other public funds, implementation the principles of sustainable development.
      The competition has been organised for 5 years and so far, the following 15 European regions were awarded: Murcia, Kerry, Brandenburg, Trnava, Helsinki-Uusima, Catalonia, Styria, Region of Southern Denmark, Nord-Pas-de-Calais, North Brabant, Marche, Flanders, Comunidad Valenciana, Northern Ireland and Lisbon. Malopolska is the first Polish region awarded in this competition.

Watch our promotional movies:

1: Malopolska - European Entrepreneurial Region of 2016


2: Malopolska - European Entrepreneurial Region of 2016


3: Malopolska - European Entrepreneurial Region of 2016

Article prepared by CeBiM
Update: 23|06|2016

Follow us on Facebook: